RSS Feed

You Don’t Know What You’ve Got Until It’s Gone

Huh?!?!Have you ever had the feeling of being completely lost? I’m not talking about the kind of lost where you’re driving around heading to White Marsh and then two hours later you’re somewhere in Pennsylvania. No, I’m talking about when you wake up in the morning and you truly have no idea what to do.

My class had the assignment to go two days, 48 hours, with absolutely no media. Nothing. No music, no TV, no computers, no fiction, no newspapers, nothing.

It. Was. Awful.

I did my two days of Stone Age on Friday and Saturday. I was really nervous going in and I knew that I would be pretty irritable so rather than subject my roommate to that – I went home. I figured: my family has to love me no matter what so…why not?

So anyway, Thursday night – I started to get a little nervous…would I really be able to go two days without my phone?  Sure, I could go two days without everything else but…I love my phone! How can I not use it for two days? It was then that I decided there is nothing I can do about it so I may as well get it over with rather than worry about it.

I woke up Friday morning to a regular alarm rather than music and I immediately felt a tightening in my chest. The day had just started but I could already feel the detachment from media but I was determined to do without all voluntary forms of media.

After going home, I took a nap, went for a walk, and played board games with my family. The board games were fun, we really get into Monopoly at my house…and plus I always win. 🙂"and Amanda wins again!!!" .... "Sit down Amanda...and stop talking in the third person"

Unfortunately, it was difficult to make it through the two days because I’m not the only media addict in my family. I would constantly have to leave rooms because the TV would be turned on, or I’d be the only one not playing on the computer. It was especially difficult when my friend came over and took her phone out. I definitely felt the jealousy coming on then. . .

Admittedly, I’m exaggerating. In all seriousness, the experience was not horrible. I think the only part that I really, really, really didn’t like – was the hour long drive home of silence. Normally when I’m in the car, I either have my iPod hooked up – or I flip between radio stations. This time while I was driving, the only thing I had to listen to was my own thoughts. I know, shocking. How could I possibly listen to myself think? Well, I did and it didn’t suck. The part that did stink was that, for the first time ever, I started to get tired towards the end of the drive. I have never gotten tired while driving…luckily the drive was short.

Overall, I’m kind of glad I took the two days to live completely unplugged. It was interesting to see just how much I depend on media. Even with doing the two days where I documented everything that I used – I didn’t realize how significant media was in my life. I guess the saying is true: You don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone.

Leave a Reply

