RSS Feed

Hogwarts: A Home Away From Home

Posted on

Growing up, I was one of the few kids, in my generation, who was an avid reader. Because of this, I have read a lot of books that have made some kind of impact on my life. When I decided to do this blog – it was hard to decide which book to choose. When I finally did – it seems like an obvious choice.

The book I chose may seem cliché but the book that made the biggest impact on my life was Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

The first time I read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, I was in kindergarten. It had just been released and my grandpa thought it would be something that my sister would enjoy reading. The first few chapters of the books are kind of dry since it is going over Harry’s back story. It was because of this that my sister, who was 8 at the time, said it was too hard to get through and she didn’t want to read it.

I have always been incredibly competitive and open to new challenges so when my big sister told me that it was too hard – obviously, I needed to conquer it.

After I read the book, I was pleasantly surprised to find that not only had the little sister beaten her big sister at something – but I found a book that was awesome. All of the action in the later chapters and the storyline itself was exciting.

The Harry Potter series has a lot of lessons to teach everyone. It teaches you to persevere and overcome adversity, it teaches you to believe in yourself even when no one else does, and it teaches you that sometimes a small group of best friends will help you more in the end that a large group of acquaintances.

*May not have actually been said by Stephen King but a good quote, nonetheless

I think this book has had such a big impact on my life because it became a series of books and movies that basically consumed my time. Every couple of years there was another book that came out and eventually – the movies were added into the mix. Harry Potter became such a powerhouse that all of my friends started reading it and it was something we grew up with. It led our discussions and changed the way we thought. It helped us to overcome our differences and led us to believe in ourselves.

Until writing this blog, I didn’t think that Harry Potter necessarily influenced the books I read today but when I started thinking about it – it kind of did. Nowadays when looking for books, I still read stand alone books but I really love the series. I’m always hoping for another series that I’ll love just as much as Harry Potter (or at least one to come close. Sometimes the series I read, I’ll positively love (Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich) but sometimes I’ll think it’s a dud (Twilight by Stephanie Myers). I really can’t wait for the semester to be over so I can finally have time to read The Hunger Games. But really, who am I kidding? Nothing will ever take the place that Harry Potter holds in my heart. (Plus, I’m still secretly waiting for my Hogwarts letter. But shh!! Don’t tell anyone)

Leave a Reply

